1967: Tony Perez’s home run won the marathon All Star Game

On this day in 1967 millions watched on TV one of the greatest All Star Game pitching duels ever. The final score was National League 2, American League 1 in 15 innings. In this game, all three runs came on solo homers by third basemen: Dick Allen, Brooks Robinson and Tony Perez. It was also the longest game in All-Star history, a mark tied in 2008.

The 1967 rosters included 21 future Hall of Famers: Tony Perez, Tom Seaver, Don Drysdale, Ferguson Jenkins, Bill Mazeroski, Jim Hunter, Bob Gibson, Juan Marichal, Joe Torre, Ernie Banks, Hank Aaron, Lou Brock, Roberto Clemente, Willie Mays, Harmon Killebrew, Mickey Mantle, Rod Carew, Frank Robinson, Brooks Robinson, Tony Oliva, Al Kaline and Carl Yastrzemski.

It was a great night for Tony Perez of Ciego de Avila, Cuba. Tony replaced Dick Allen in the 10th. He struck out against Catfish Hunter in the 12th, then hit the game-winner to deep left field with one out in the top of the 15th.

Along with Perez, there were two other Cubans: the aforementioned Tony Oliva and Mike Cuellar.

P.S. Check out my blog for posts, podcasts and videos.